My writing

Maybe I Should Write The Poem

I want a poem about girls like me / I’ve read poetry about girls like wolves with tongues that throw daggers and eyes that smolder / I’ve read poetry about girls with flowers in their brains who leave butterflies in their wake / but none about girls like me.

The girls who speak a little too loudly but not loud enough to be heard / feel just a little lonely but not enough to find solace within themselves / who can’t stand what the see in the mirror but won’t do anything about it / who love to dance but don’t know how to carry themselves / the girls whose bodies exude neither fiery confidence nor dainty grace.

Where are the poems about average girls / the ones who aren’t enough of anything to be / muses.

Leave a Reply

