My writing

neil armstrong’s s p a c e b o o t s

This poem is inspired by this super wild fact I learned the other day:

Did you know that the astronaut Neil Armstrong actually left his space boots on the moon? I didn’t.

I don’t know what it is
About the silver orb flying
High and illuminating the darkness
That makes me feel
A little less lonely
When my whole world is asleep.

Maybe it’s the comfort found in knowing
That a pair of giant boots
Sits up there all alone,
Much like myself.
That their existence is so far away
From everything I know.

Or maybe it’s that I’m alive in the midst
Of space exploration:
The limbo between you, with your
Space boots that you left
In the safety of the moon,
And the many others that will follow.

Leave a Reply

